## FOUNDING OF THE CONSTANTZA BRANCH OF THE ACADEMY OF ROMANIAN SCIENTISTS (1989)

Alexandru Ş. BOLOGA<sup>\*</sup>

Abstract: The documents kept in the archives of the Museum of National History and Archaeology Constantza allowed us to highlight the founding and evolution of the Association of Scientists - Constantza branch, which had its first headquarter in this museum. It was founded under the presidency of Professor Adrian V. Rădulescu, director of the museum (for two mandates), on June 24, 1989 and it had functioned as such until 2000. Written evidences on its members, on the activities that have been carried out and on its own accounting date from this year. Afterwards, it became the Constantza branch of the Academy of Romanian Scientists (A.O.Ş.R.), together with other 7 branches from Bucharest, Braşov, Cluj-Napoca, Iasi, Piatra Neamt, Timisoara and Târgoviște. Nowadays the Constantza branch includes 17 members (full, associate, correspondent and honorary / honorable members). It hosts scientific activities carried out within A.O.S.R. in many respects (organizing and participating in scientific projects and local, national and international events, publication of articles in the Annals of the Academy and other national and foreign publications, book releases) and edits its own informative Bulletin in Constantza.

Key-words: Academy of Romanian Scientists, Constantza branch, 1989

## Introduction

In 1894 the "Society Friends of Mathematics Science" was established, which, by merging with the "Society of Physical-Chemical Sciences" (founded in 1894) gave birth to the "Romanian Society of Sciences" in Bucharest (1897), later on the "Romanian Society of Sciences" (1903); it worked between 1903-1948 with an interruption between 1916 and 1918 (Matei, 1972).

From the initiative of some scientists, including Academicians Ștefan Bălan, Grigore Moisil, Ștefan Nicolau, Mihai Ralea and Traian Săvulescu, on March 23, 1956 the constituent meeting of the Association of Scientists of Romania (A.O.Ş.) was held. By the Decision of the Council of Ministers No. 1012 of May 30, 1956 the establishment of A.O.Ş. was authorized, having as Honorary President Academician Nicolae Teodorescu and President Major General medical doctor Vasile Cândea.

<sup>\*</sup> Associate Professor Ph.D., Academy of Romanian Scientists, Constantza branch